The Commonwealth: Advancing towards future with Emerging Technologies & AI

Friday, September 11th 2020 (11:30 AM – 6:00 PM BST)
Saturday, September 12th 2020 (8:30 AM – 6:00 PM BST)

Mix of keynote speeches, addresses and panel discussions will focus on 3 themes

Conference Speakers

RT Hon Patricia Scotland QC

Secretary General of the Commonwealth

RT Hon Sir John Key

Former Prime Minister of New Zealand

Hon. Carmelo Abela

Minister within Office of the Prime Minister, Malta

Hon Kyriacos Kokkinos

Deputy Minister to the President, Research, Innovation and Digital Policy, Cyprus

Mark Phillips

Prime Minister of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana

Hon Mohamed Maleeh Jamal

Minister of Communication, Science and Technology, Maldives

Jordan Zed

Global Partnership on Artificial Intelligence & Director-General, ISED

Nandcoomar Bodha

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade

Justin Flitter

Chief AI Officer, NewZealand.AI

David Gomez

Director, Ramphal Institute

Oniel Cross

Principal at Deloitte Consulting LLP

Prof. Nelishia Pillay

AI National Head, South Africa

Shelley Zalis

CEO, the Female Quotient

Joseph Cox

Assistant Secretary General of CARICOM

Dr Allison Gardner

Co-founder, Women Leading in AI

Arunima Sen

Outreach Officer, UNDP

Cllr Mete Coban MBE

Chief Executive, My Life My Say

Ria Persad

Founder and CEO, StatWeather

Ezequiel Vedana da Rosa

Founder and CEO, Piipee

Mark Minevich

Digital Cognitive Strategist | Artificial Intelligence Expert

Natasha Birnbaum

Senior Vice President of Global Strategy, Mogul

Nitendra Rajput

Vice President and Head of AI Garage Mastercard

Nero Ughwajabo

Former Special Advisor to UK Prime Minister Theresa May

Bhanu Prakash

World's Fastest Human Calculator | Head, Exploring Infinities

Monique Morrow

Senior Distinguished Architect Emerging Technologies, Syniverse

Siamak Sam Loni

Director, UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN) Youth

Swati Agarwal

Programme and Research Manager, Global Policy Insights

Fuatai Purcell

Acting Secretary-General, Commonwealth Telecommunications Organisation

Dr Bitange Ndemo

Chairman, Blockchain & Artificial Intelligence taskforce, Kenya

Nishtha Satyam

Deputy Country Representative, UN Women in India, Bhutan, Maldives, and Sri Lanka

Darren Jones

MP, UK, Chair, House of Commons, Business Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee

Samantha Cohen CVO

Chief Executive, Commonwealth Enterprise
and Investment Council

Mandy Sanghera

Philanthropist, global campainer
on AI for social good and Tedx speaker UK

Dr Joanna Newman

Secretary General of Association of Commonwealth Universities

Kartik Sawhney

Co-founder Project StemAccess, Queen’s Young Leaders Award 2016

Kakembo Galabuzi Brian

Founder and Executive Director, WEYE Clean Energy Company

Dr Pankaj Mittal

Secretary General of Indian Association of Universities

Dr Anne Therese Gallagher AO

Director-General, The Commonwealth Foundation


World Economic Forum Young Global Leader, invented Chipsafer

Mohamed Shareef

Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Communication, Science and Technology, Maldives

Shahana Joshi

Programme and Research Manager, Global Policy Insights

Dr Victoria Chisala

Acting Director of the Policy and Strategy Department, African Development Bank

Ivana Bartoletti

Tech Director Deloitte UK & Author, An Artificial Revolution: On Power, Politics and AI

Madelle Kangha

Founder of the Jumpstart Group, Jumpstart Africa

Adirupa Sengupta

Group Chief Executive, Common Purpose Charitable Trust

Dalith Steiger

Co-founder, Swiss Cognitive

Uday Nagaraju

Co-founder and Executive President, Global Policy Insights

Saniye Gülser Corat

Former Director of Gender Equality, UNESCO Headquarters

Victoria Bolin

Project Manager, Women in AI

Shoko Noda

UNDP Resident Representative in India

Stephen Anurag P

Founder, Yes We Can, Youth Organization for SDGs, India

Bhanu Ghantasala

Founder and CEO, Green Hats Innovation Labs, UK

Dr Avik Sarkar

Former Head, Data Analytics Cell, NITI Aayog, India

Kamela Palma

Former Diplomat at Government of Belize

Neha Dewan

Consultant, UNESCO Cluster Office for South Asia

Mirra Sondhi

Global Head of Technology Risk, Schroders

Richard Bourne

Trustee, Ramphal Institute

Elena Sinel

Founder & CEO, Teens in AI

Cllr Tele Lawal

Head of Engagement, My Life My Say

Aseem Kumar

Head, Asia Pacific Resource Centre(APRC), UN Global Compact Network India

Jonathon Cummings

Vice President Americas (North and South) Region, Global Policy Insights

Faranisese Ratu

Founder and President, Youths Against Corruption, Fiji

Edward Teather

Head of Strategy & International, The UK Office for AI

Conference Organising Team

Core Team

Uday Nagaraju

Conference Chair and Convener

Nurullah Wasi

Logistics and Human Resources

Swati Agarwal

Agenda Setting, Event Planning and Partnerships

Stephen Anurag P

Partnerships Coordinator for Youth Organisations and Universities

Neha Dewan

Academic Coordinator

Jasmine Mehta

Corporate Partnerships and Strategy

Jasmine Mehta

Corporate Partnerships and Strategy

Shahana Joshi

Communications & Outreach Coordinator


Elizaveta chmykh

Ibeawuchi Collins

Utsav Shah

Rukmini Swetha Kota

Purva Aggarwal

Conference Speakers

Panel Participants

Associate Partners